Gluten Free Cranberry & White Chocolate Pastries!

IMG_20150516_231321Day seven and the last day of Coeliac Awareness Week! For anyone who blogs recipies they will know it’s no mean feat baking, photographing (yes they are all my photos, I love photography as much as I do baking!) cleaning up the devestation caused by the baking and then sitting and writing up the recipes whilst doing the normal everyday house hold chores and usual running of the day to day family madness. But this week has been worth the midnight deadlines and the madness the blogging has caused. It’s been hard work, and at times I’ve finished and published them just before midnight, but I’ve managed to produce a recipe a day! I hope you have enjoyed my Coeliac Awareness Week blogs and I’m sorry to all of you who are maybe fed up of seeing them on your Facebook newsfeeds, but today is my last one….for a few days any way! I certainly won’t be doing one everyday again……well maybe not until next years Coeliac Awareness Week anyway! Thank you for all those who have shared my Blog on Facebook and especially to those who have tried the recipes, I hope you enjoyed your bakes! The response to my promotion of Coeliac Awareness Week  has been amazing! I’ve had tweets and retweets from so many people on Twitter, including Caroline Quentin, Phil Vickery (the chef) Lisa Faulkner, GBBO bakers, Doves flour, Dr Oetker to name but a few and then many of their followers have also retweeted! I’ve also gained a fair few followers! So all in all I’ve had a very productive week!

We’re off out on a jolly with friends today so with no time to bake I decided yesterday I would do a quick and easy bake that we could take on our jolly and one I could then also share it on my blog today.

Theses little beauties are delicious…..and so not healthy! I so nearly wasn’t going to share them as in the process I didn’t know whether I thought they were good enough! But once I had made them and tasted them, and the hubby/chief taster had tried and tasted them too, I definitely changed my mind, we both said they are really delicious! And they are so easy to do!

The pastry I used is Genius Puff pastry! I’ve never been a fan of pastry, ever since I was a child, but after sampling Genius Puff Pastry I’ve been converted, it’s light, flaky and if we ever have a pie for dinner, be it savoury or sweet, the whole family have it too…..and enjoy it!

Gluten Free Cranberry and White Chocolate  Pastries

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1x packet of Genius gluten free puff pastry
  • 20g butter, melted
  • 50g white chocolate chips (ensure this are gluten free)
  • 50g dried cranberries
  • 20g soft brown sugar
  • 1 egg to glaze
  • 50g Icing sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon cold water

Method

  • Preheat the over to 180℃/Gas 4
  • Roll out the pastry to approximately 20 x 30cm, with the shorter side towards you.
  • In a bowl mix and combine the butter, sugar, chocolate chips & cranberries, then spread evenly over the pastry.

IMG_20150516_231546

  • Starting at the top of the pastry, tightly roll the pastry towards you.
  • Using a sharp knife trim either end of the rolled pastry, then cut it into 8 even slices, approximately 2cm wide.
  • Place each slice on a non stick backing tray, 3cm apart.

IMG_20150516_231742

  • Beat the egg and carefully glaze the pastry slices before baking.
  • place on the middle shelf of the oven and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown.
  • Remove the pastries from the baking trays and leave them to cool thoroughly on a wire rack.
  • Once cooled, mix the icing sugar and water together and drizzle of the pastry swirls!

IMG_20150516_201513

Eat and Enjoy….as a treat!!
One thought on “Gluten Free Cranberry & White Chocolate Pastries!

Leave a Reply

