Gluten Free Toffee Apple Cake!

IMG_20150923_160145So after an operation and being out of action for a few weeks and  also having to take things very easy I’ve been unable to bake! As I was feeling up to pottering around, and I really fancied doing a bit of baking, I took it very easy and got creating in my kitchen…..under the watchful eye of my husband whose been absolutely fabulous looking after me, the kids and the house! I never do as I’m told and I hate doing nothing,  but I have to say I’ve impressed myself with how good I’ve been…….I’m not the easiest of patients! Anyway a friend came to visit me after my op and bought us a few windfall apples, so I thought it only right as it is now autumn, I should attempt to make an autumnal apple cake and so my tasty Toffee Apple Cake was created!

This was a really easy and an absolutely delicious cake, its a very light cake and the top is covered with a thin crispy crumbly layer of toffee which adds a lovely texture. We ate it cold as a cake but I have to say it would make an absolutely delicious dessert too,  served with custard….or cream….or icecream! It’s a really great way to use up a few windfall apples….and I’ll definitely be baking this again. It was a complete hit with all the family……and not forgetting the visitors I had, who actually managed to have a slice before it all vanished!!!! So here’s the recipe!

Toffee Apple Cake! 

Ingredients 

Toffee Sauce

  • 60g Butter
  • 60ml milk
  • 225g soft dark sugar

Cake

  • 225g margarine
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 250g gluten free self raising flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon gluten free baking powder
  • 200g cooking apples chopped into small pieces
  • Icing sugar for dusting.

IMG_20150923_183144

Method

  • Place the toffee sauce ingredients in a non stick pan and over a medium heat bring to the boil and boil for approximately 3 minutes, stirring continously
  • Leave to cool until it’s warm, stirring occasionally
  • Preheat the oven to 170ºC / Gas 3
  • Grease and line a 9″ loose bottom cake tin with greaseproof paper.
  • Place the margarine and sugar in a mixing bowl and beat together using either a free standing or a hand held electric mixer on a medium speed setting until the mixture is light and fluffy.
  • Add the eggs one at a time and beat well  inbetween adding each egg, scrapping the mixture down of the sides of the bowl each time.
  • Once all the eggs are added and the mixture is well combined, sift in the flour and baking powder and mix well using a slow speed setting.
  • Using a metal spoon, fold in the chopped apple.

IMG_20150923_182955

  • Add approximately half of the warm toffee sauce to the cake mixture and gently mix together.
  • Gently pour the cake mixture into the cake tin and level out, ensuring it reaches the edges of the cake tin.
  • Bake for 40-45 minutes & until well risen and golden brown and a skewer comes out clean when inserted into the middle of the cake.
  • As soon as the cake comes out of the oven gently warm the remaining half of the toffee sauce, remove the cake from the tin and place it the right way up on a cooling rack
  • Whilst the cake is still hot, pour over the toffee sauce and spread evenly over the cake. This gives the cake a nice light crunchy topping.
  • Leave to cool completely and dust with icing sugar if you are eating it as a cake.
  • Alternatively eat warm with either a dollop of cream, lashings of custard or a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream!

IMG_20150923_182757 IMG_20150923_182605

 However you eat it…..
hot or cold,
simply Eat & Enjoy!!
Leave a Reply

