Oven Baked Gluten Free Cinnamon Doughnuts!


IMG_20150927_184319

I’ve always fancied trying to make doughnuts but I don’t really like the idea of deep frying foods, so when I discovered a doughnut pan on offer in sainsburys I decided I’d give oven baked doughnuts a go. Whilst reading through a lot of recipes I actually realised I could easily adapt them to make gluten free doughnuts!

I have to say I didnt actually think my first attempt would be so delicious! They are not like a regular gluten doughnut as they are not a gluten rich dough and they are not deep fried but they certainly are a light tasty doughnut with a crispy sugary cinnamon coating. This is definitely a recipe I will be using again and will be adapting to make different flavours….watch this space and I’ll add any varieties I bake….please let me know what flavours you have made too!

Oven Baked Gluten Free Cinnamon Doughnuts!

Ingredients

  • 100g gluten free plain flour
  • 2 tablespoons cornflour
  • 1 teaspoon gluten free baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 75g granulated sugar
  • 75mls melted butter
  • 75mls buttermilk
  • 1 egg.
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the sugar coating

  • 75g melted butter
  • 100g granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Equipment 

  • 6 bun doughnut pan
  • Disposal piping bag

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 170ºC.
  • Grease thoroughly a doughnut tin (makes 6 ).
  • Place all the doughnut dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix thoroughly.
  • Place the melted butter, buttermilk,  egg and vanilla extract in a jug and whisk thoroughly.
  • Pour mixture into the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly, until well combined.
  • Place the mixture in a piping back, cut the end off the piping bag off (approximately one inch) and pipe into the doughnut baking tray.
  • Bake for 11-12 minutes
  • Remove from tin and place on a cooling rack.
  • Brush both sides of the doughnuts (before they cool) with the melted butter and place in the dish of cinnamon sugar, making sure they are well coated.
  • Place on the cooling rack to cool completely.

PhotoGrid_1443427303665

They won’t last long…….

……so eat one & enjoy it before someone else does!

PhotoGrid_1443376161357

4 thoughts on “Oven Baked Gluten Free Cinnamon Doughnuts!

  1. I’ve been meaning to try oven-baked doughnuts and a GF version is even more appealing! However, I have no doughnut pan! I have seen people form them by hand and bake them on a tray – what’s the texture of these and do you think they are firm enough to stand without being in a tin?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

