Gluten & Dairy Free Scotch Pancakes!

IMG_20150930_095926

Sometimes, as a coeliac, breakfast can seem such a boring meal! I seem to have the same things every day, usually gluten free porridge (I’m lucky as I can eat oats, a lot of people can’t!) gluten free cereals, often not the most filling, toast or at this moment in time my favourite thing for breakfast is Nutribix…..in a bowl of piping hot soya milk and left to go soft and runny, I feel I’m having Weetabix! Anyway, this morning I woke up and was bored at the thought of breakfast, I wanted something different and filling and scotch pancakes came to mind! Here’s a link to my recipe if you fancy trying some Gluten Free & Dairy Free Traditional Pancakes!

I decided to do them dairy free as well as gluten free as a lot of people ask about my recipes being adapted to be dairy free to, so I thought I’d give them a go to see how they tasted. I have to say they were just as lovely! If you don’t need a dairy free diet just substitute the soya milk with your regular milk As always I adapt recipes and this recipe is quick and easy, and for me instead of using 50g of sugar, I used 25g of half & half sugar and they tasted just as good as my hubby’s pancakes whose were made as per the recipe below! I served mine with sliced banana and a drizzle of honey! My husbands were a bit more decadent…. served with sliced banana, squirty cream and a drizzle of maple syrup!

Gluten & Dairy Free Scotch Pancakes! (Makes 6)

Ingredients

  • 100g gluten free plain flour
  • 50g sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon gluten free baking powder
  • 1 egg (beaten)
  • 3 tablespoons soya milk (approximately)
  • Oil for cooking

Method 

  • Sift the flour and baking powder into a measuring jug.
  • Using a balloon whisk mix in the sugar.
  • Pour in the egg and and half the milk and mix thoroughly.
  • Add the remaining milk a little at a time until you have a thick but pourable batter mix.
  • Pour a very small amount of oil into a frying pan and spread round with a pastry brush to lightly coat the bottom of the pan.
  • Over a medium heat pour in approximately 1 large tablespoon of the batter mixture.
  • Once bubbles begin to form gently turn the pancake over.

IMG_20150930_101019

  • Cook the other side until golden brown (approximately 2 minutes)

IMG_20150930_101121

  • Continue to cook the remaining batter in the same way until all the batter has been used, greasing the pan if needed in between cooking the pancakes!
  • Serve on their own or with fruit of your choice, or even spread with dairy free spread and jam!

Start your day a different way…..

Eat & Enjoy

IMG_20150930_100318 IMG_20150930_100012 IMG_20150930_095721

IMG_20150930_123644
…..not dairy free now but with a squirt of cream they are absolutely delicious!
One thought on “Gluten & Dairy Free Scotch Pancakes!

Leave a Reply

