Gluten Free Salted caramel Brownies using the Delicious Alchemy Brownie Mix

IMG_20150904_142737


I recently entered The Delicious Alchemy Gluten Free Magical Bake Off with my Gluten Free Battenburg Cake and was lucky to be one of the weekly winners. My prize was a selection of some of their gluten free mixes. Me being me decided to adapt the recipe and with a jar of Asda Salted Caramel Sauce in my cupboard I decided I would do a salted caramel version so I could compare it to my own recipe for Gluten Free Salted Caramel Brownies.

The mix requires you just to add melted butter and 2 eggs so with those in the fridge & with half a jar of Asda salted Caramel in the cupboard I didn’t even need to venture out to the shops to create this bake! The mix was so easy to make too, eat it cold or serve warm as a dessert with icecream or cream….either way it’s delicious!

The Results!

This mix with the added salted caramel sauce was absolutely delicious and completely comparable to my own recipe. In fact if I was given them.both I can honestly say I wouldn’t be able to tell the difference! The following week I found our local Co-op had began selling the Brownie Mix! That along with the fact I have to drive miles to purchase gluten free dark chocolate to make my recipe means a 2 mile trip to my local co-op actually makes it so much more convenient to make as a quick bake if I’m in a hurry! I’ve never been a cake mix person…I’m a cake baker through and through but this mix has definitely won me over and at £2.99 a packet it is actually excellent value for money and very comparable cost wise to making it all from scratch! I’ll definitely be storing a packet in my cupboard from now on, for the days I need a quick bake and I have little time! I love it!!

Anyway on to the recipe….

Ingredients 

Method

  • Preheat oven to 170ºC / Gas 3.
  • Grease and line an 8″ square cake tin.
  • Put the Brownie mix into a large mixing bowl.
  • Pour in the melted butter and mix in well until a batter is beginning to form.
  • Mix in the beaten egg until thoroughly mixed to form a  smooth batter.
  • Place half of the mixture into the prepared tin and spread evenly.
  • Place 12 blobs of the caramel sauce (each a large teaspoon size) on to the mixture.

IMG_20150904_143230

  • Cover with the remaining batter mix and smooth over to level it out evenly.
  • Place approximately 10 teaspoons of the salted caramel sauce over the top of the mixture and gently swirl and level it out.

IMG_20150904_143330

  • Bake for 20-25 minutes.

IMG_20150904_143042

  • Allow to cool in the tin for 20 minutes before turning on to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  • Cut into 12- 16 equal slices.
Serve cold with a cuppa or served hot as a dessert with cream or icecream……
Eat & Enjoy

IMG_20150904_142836

PhotoGrid_1441373805635

Leave a Reply

