Gluten Free Jaffa Cakes!

FB_IMG_1472073071373

So, after watching The Great British Bake Off last night, I really thought I should share my recipe for the Gluten Free Jaffa Cakes I made in the past. I’ve been meaning to make them and blog about them for ages but haven’t quite got round to doing it…but after last night’s episode of GBBO and there being a lot of talk of Jaffa Cakes on social media at the moment, I thought there seems no time like the present to write up and share the recipe!

Pre Coeliac days one of my biggest loves was Jaffa Cakes, they were one of the things I really missed when I was first diagnosed 16 years ago. A few years back I discovered a fabulous recipe for Jaffa Cakes by Simon Rimmer, when he used to be on Sunday Brunch. Wow, homemade Jaffa Cakes, I was beyond excited to try and adapt them to make them gluten free…..they were a success and I ate my first Jaffa Cake in years!! I was not disappointed I can say, I had rediscovered my love for Jaffa cakes, and they were so worth the effort!! A few weeks after I had discovered a recipe to make them, gluten free Jaffa cakes became available to buy and were on the shop shelves!! Although I don’t have the need to make a homemade version anymore I still do!! These gluten free jaffa cakes won’t disappoint you and you will impress everyone too that you’ve made them yourself!

These are so delicious, it’s so worth making them!! I even made some raspberry and white chocolate ones! They were very nice too…although I suppose they aren’t really Jaffa Cakes!!!!

With my blogs, I usually take photos along the way, however these were made pre blogging days so I’m afraid there aren’t any!! I will definitely make them again so I can add in the step by step photos, but in the meantime I’ve written up the recipe I used to share with you all. These Jaffa Cakes can also be made dairy free if you use dairy free chocolate to cover the Jaffa cakes!

Gluten Free Jaffa Cakes Recipe

Ingredients

For the sponge cake bases

  • 2 Eggs
  • 50g Caster sugar
  • 50g Gluten free plain flour

To decorate

  • 1 packet of orange jelly (135g)
  • 100mls boiling water
  • 40mls orange juice (I used shop bought orange juice, but you can use freshly squeezed orange juice)
  • 250g Gluten Free Dark Chocolate. I use a good quality 70% dark chocolate.

Method

  • Lightly grease 16 holes from 2x bun cake tins, I prefer thinner cake based Jaffa Cakes so I make make 16 Jaffa Cakes. (Mary Berry and Simon Rimmer prefer thicker ones, so they make 12 out of these measurements!! So if you prefer you can make thicker ones, you’ll just need to bake them for a couple of minutes longer)
  • Break up the jelly and place in a bowl, add the boiling water and stir until all the jelly has dissolved. Stir in the orange juice.
  • Pour the jelly into a shallow baking tray so the jelly is approximately 7mm deep. Allow to cool then place in the fridge to set, making sure the baking tray is completely level so the jelly is even!
  • Pre heat the oven to 180°C/Gas 4
  • To make the sponge base, place the eggs and sugar in a heatproof mixing bowl.
  • Bring a small amount of water to boil in a saucepan, then reduce the heat so the water is simmering.
  • Place the mixing bowl with the ingredients in on the top of the saucepan, making sure the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water and whisk continually for approximately 5 minutes and the cake mixture is pale and flurry.
  • Carefully add the flour and continue to beat until the mixture is like a batter.
  • Divide the mixture between the 16 greased bun tins.
  • Bake for approximately 8 minutes  (longer if you’re making 12) The sponges should be a pale golden colour and firm to the touch.
  • Remove from the tins and place on a cooling rack to cool completely.
  • Once the cakes have cooled and jelly has completely set, use a round cookie cutter, slightly smaller than the top of the cake bases to carefully cut out 16 circles of the jelly and place one on top of each of the cake bases.
  • Simmer a small amount of water in a small saucepan and place a heatproof bowl over the saucepan, making sure the bottom of the bowl doesn’t touch the water, break up the chocolate and place in the bowl and stir until it melts. Try not to heat the chocolate too much otherwise it will not be glossy once it’s cooled!
  • Pour the chocolate over the cakes, try to get a thin layer of chocolate on the cake rather than a thick layer, easier said than done though!! (Mary Berry doesn’t like the chocolate drizzling down the sides, I do try not to get it down the sides, but often fail!!)
  • Using a cocktail stick make a crisscross pattern on the top of the Jaffa Cake and leave to cool until the chocolate sets completely. (If you have some chocolate left over and you prefer you can drizzle a pattern on to of the Jaffa Cakes instead of doing a pattern with a cocktail stick)

Eat & Enjoy…..I suggest you hide the rest of them so your gluten eating family/friends don’t find them and eat them all!!!!

FB_IMG_1472124646007
My Raspberry and White Chocolate version of Jaffa Cakes!!

 

6 thoughts on “Gluten Free Jaffa Cakes!

      1. I also went back to the Great British Bake Off show and saw that several of the bakers lined the pan with cling film or parchment paper.
        My wife wants to try the raspberry version next!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

